Time For Some Divination

Last week I took a little time off from my blog to enjoy the arrival of Ostara but it wasn’t all play…I had a lot of work to do. I am a freelance writer and I recently accepted a contract that involves a high volume of intense research work. Yes, that sounds crazy but that is the kind of thing that I enjoy. However, I am a little out of shape. I’ve spent the last several weeks trying to remind myself to get up and walk around every now and then, oh yeah, and remember to eat and drink.

I decided this weekend I needed to tune-in and take a look at how the Elements were balanced (or not) in my life. Every so often, I use one of my tarot decks to pull Elemental spreads. I usually keep my Renaissance deck divided out into suits to make this task easier. Once I have grounded myself and found my quiet place, I pull one card from each suit. By doing so, I have a good snapshot of how the Elements are influencing me at that moment.

Here was my message:

  • Earth – hard work and attention to detail (No kidding!)
  • Air – Self-centeredness / worn out by demands & I need to take care of myself (Yep!)
  • Fire – take a stand / believe in myself / strength of character / don’t just pretend – do it!
  • Water – celebrate community (I have found my people!)

What was surprising to me was that Air and Fire seemed to be out of balance for me. This is odd because those are my two strongest Elements. Thinking back, with the last moon cycle, I worked hard to bring my Earth and Water Elements into balance. Oops! It looks like I forgot to keep Air and Fire balanced as well. That’s what happens when I’m in a hurry and not paying attention.

For this Dark Moon, I will do an Element Balancing Ritual to try to find some peace in my life. Yes, I am one of those odd Witches that does rituals during the Dark Moon time. I even practice widdershins. I actually am more at ease with the Dark Moon. This makes sense when I tell you that my main Goddesses are The Morrigan and Persephone. The dark illuminates as much for me as the light. In the dark, there is quiet and I can focus on the necessary and not be distracted by the light.

If you feel a little out of sorts, try doing an Elemental spread. It may just surprise you.

Leave a Reply

