Why Do We Hide?

Are you living a lie? Many Witches think that way. They hide their tools in closets and drawers or they tiptoe around family or party conversations on spirituality. Some have altars out in the open but they are disguised to look like average knick-knacks. Why do we do this? There are many reasons, but here is a couple:

Fear of being outed as a freak comes to mind. A little harsh? Maybe so, but sometimes that’s how it feels. We’ve all been in that conversation with a trusted friend when they spout off something that hits our core. We want to speak up and assure them that they are wrong, but we know that would only end the friendship and start a load of gossip.

Fear of being made fun of. People can be mean and they often poke fun at things they are uncomfortable with. It hurts when someone trivializes something that is very important to you. Of course, being a Witch requires a thick skin, but everyone is vulnerable in some way.

What do these things do to our magick? They can definitely be a wet blanket. They can also help feed that side of our ego that sounds like Gollum from Lord of the Rings…Not someone you want around when you are performing spellwork. How do you deal with these issues?

Yes, I have people in my life that I hide my Witchy side from…not many, but they are there. I have whittled down my friendships to a very select group who, for the most part, accept me “as is.” However, I do have one dear friend that I think would loose her mind. I feel like I am keeping this great secret from her, that if she were open minded about it, would improve her life. It’s sad really that we have people in our lives that we can’t share with.

So, this was just a quick thought for today and maybe some of you can share your thoughts.

Why do we hide?
What does this do to our magick?
What would the Witch’s perfect world look like?

I would love for you to share! Until next time….

Leave a Reply

